Originally Posted by Mr Marcus
do players still get their money after they're amnestied?
When a player gets amnestied, they get their money no matter what. It will just no longer count against their salary cap.
Teams competing for their talents, get to bid on the player, and the player goes to the highest bidder. Bidding has to comply with salary cap rules.
If there are no bidders, that player is free to sign wherever he feels like. I believe each time they sign though, the new team pays into some of that salary they are owed, lowering the cost for the team who amnestied the player.
In the case of Andray Blatche, he's wanted to spite the Wizards; so instead of asking for a team to sign him to a specific deal, he goes for the lowest price possible, making the Wizards continue to pay his remaining salary