Best basketball shoes Vol. Ankle Support

I need to get some new basketball shoes. I have been playing in lows for a couple years, but have sprained my ankle twice recently. I want to play in some shoes that will minimize the possibility of getting hurt.
I am wearing an ankle brace but feel that getting a higher cut shoe will also help more than having a low cut shoe.

Ive played in Kobe 5s and hyperfuse lows
I was looking at KD 5s online but they don't seem to be much higher than the lows.

Help me out with suggestions NT!

Thanks!

Last edited:
No shoes will save your ankle if you happen to land on somebody else foot. A shoes that has an out rigger might help stabilize the ankle from quick laterally movement on the court but it does not really help if you unluckily land on someone foot while rebound or shooting jumpshot

High cut shoes does not offer anymore more protection than low cut shoes. It's really just a mindset. Not a fact.

I suggest you just buy a light, stable, low to the ground shoes and most importantly wear proper shoe size. Wear thick socks.

Play hard but play smart. Always stretch before playing and in your spare time work on your balance/ legs conditioning to improve your legs muscle strength. Walking barefoot on dry sand is a good way to strengthen your ankle and foot too.

Last edited:
i think ankle rolls are more affected by the stability of the shoe rather than the cut but that can be another thread. that and those awkward landings..nothings going to protect your ankle from those..high..mid or lows.