Cutting Your Own Hair Thread 2016 (Post tips, and tricks)

I know that there are a few popular haircut threads going right now, but I thought that I'd try something new, and hopefully inspire a few others in the process. Some of you may be vets at cutting your own hair, some of you may be on the ledge, and just need that nudge to try it. Me? I've been doing it on and off for the last two years, but I would say this has to be the longest point of my life of not going to see a barber (since Labor Day). I'm much better than what I was, but I'm still learning how to fade 100%.

Popular hair-cutting threads on NT right now:

Barber Tools Discussion:
http://niketalk.com/t/514651/post-y...ners-barber-tools-discussion-questions/480_20

Black Guy Hair-cuts:
http://niketalk.com/t/337672/black-guy-hair-cuts/0_20

Modern Men Hair-cuts:
http://niketalk.com/t/596451/modern-men-haircuts/0_20

Tyga's Guide to Hair Growth:
http://niketalk.com/t/637054/bruh-tyga-hair-gains-vol-jamie-would-be-proud/0_20

#Beardgang:
http://niketalk.com/t/570752/post-your-beard-vol-beardgang/0_20

Feel free to post any of your own cuts, tips, etc.

If you feel this thread is redundant, Mods can delete...

Someone who is on the ledge... For those who do cut their own hair, what kind of stuff did you buy to get started? I'm tired of razor bumps, but I don't want to go to the barbershop every time I want a smooth shave. I figure if I'm going to invest in a decent trimmer, I might as well go all the way and get a set of clippers for haircuts too.

Can someone who has been doing it a while share what they purchased to get started, maybe some oils/lotions that helped with shaving bumps, and tips/tricks for the first few times?