How to obtain a security clearance?

Long story short, I'm unemployed and roughly half of the jobs I look for online require some type of security clearance.    Any idea of what would be the best way of getting sponsored by any type of company in the DMV?   I'm willing to start from the bottom, yet again, but am finding trouble finding any job that will serve as a stepping-stone.    Thanks!

Having and maintaining a clean record is crucial.  You have to start somewhere and some clearances are not transferable to other agencies.  Armed security for Govt sites and even janitorial work at Govt sites offer clearances.

All depends what kind of work you do.....other jobs like contracts, IT, administrative require clearances as well.   

just apply for the desired job. in most cases they pay for your clearance based on experience and placement.

when i graduated college i started working for DoD and they paid for my security clearance.

Good luck bro!

Originally Posted by space jam XI

Long story short, I'm unemployed and roughly half of the jobs I look for online require some type of security clearance.    Any idea of what would be the best way of getting sponsored by any type of company in the DMV?   I'm willing to start from the bottom, yet again, but am finding trouble finding any job that will serve as a stepping-stone.    Thanks!

Paying for a clearance out of pocket is expensive as heck. What type of work you looking for? i work for DOD also and my company paid for my secret clearance.  Do you have a degree?

Originally Posted by iCan

just apply for the desired job. in most cases they pay for your clearance based on experience and placement.

when i graduated college i started working for DoD and they paid for my security clearance.

Good luck bro!
A government agency or company has to sponsor you for a clearance. You can't really just get one on your own.

Good luck though, having a clearance in our area is good.. you'll almost always have a job/job opportunity.