Official Real Estate Thread. Advice/Questions/Whatever

Yo whats good NT. I want to get into real estate in the future and was wonder some things. I know there are many NT'ers who own property. Plus I figured others can ask some questions too.

My first question is, does anyone know how much it cost to own/buy/build a project? For example Apartments complexes/Town Homes. Also what is the process of this.

do you have any kind of background in this?

the obvious factor is the money, it depends on size and location. tied into that is the entitlement process and jurisdictional requirements, which also vary. even if you have the capital, you cant always just stroll in and start developing a parcel.

I've been a Realtor for almost 6 years. What do you mean by a "project"? A full apartment or condo complex?

you need years of experience in the field, and/or a professional education in an associated discipline. go into architecture/engineering, construction management or something on the business side. its virtually impossible to just start in on multi-residential development off the street. not knowing any other variables, youre talking about tens of millions, depending on how many units.

Originally Posted by ddot7

I've been a Realtor for almost 6 years. What do you mean by a "project"? A full apartment or condo complex?
Something like in this picture...

Cincinnati-union-terminal.jpg

Look at the brick complexes at the bottom. Something like this. I want to start something like that. Pay for it to be built and etc.

Also something like this would be cool too...

cdap_img3847.jpe

pitcher.jpg

116296-0-0-2.jpg

I don't have to be a private owner, I just want to own this type of stuff one day.