Question regarding running OSx on external drive for Windows

Discussion in 'General' started by dathbgboy, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,403
    2,336
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    What's goodie NT,

    Any of yall ever format an external HDD to run OSx for Windows? Windows 7 in particular. Don't wanna dual-boot on the same HDD since it's only 160gb.The External is also 160gb and I'm tryna partition Mac OSx (more than likely retail, not OEM tho) I would imagine it's the same instructions asdual-bootin on one HDD but wanna make sure. Any help is def appreciated, all forums I seen on google was from 2+yrs ago so I'm sure the rules changed.
     
  2. milestailsprowe

    milestailsprowe

    7,716
    499
    Joined
    Aug 2, 2008
    So you wanna run Windows 7 with a MACOX partion on a external drive for fun and Mac related stuff?
     
  3. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,403
    2,336
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    Yea, pretty much. Figured I'd try all this stuff while I had the time over the winter break
     
  4. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,403
    2,336
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    [​IMG]
     
  5. proper english

    proper english

    11,356
    57
    Joined
    Dec 30, 2004
    ext HDD has a sata port right?

    edit: i've seen someone boot from an ext HDD before.. but he was on a Mac.. idk about Win7.
     
  6. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,403
    2,336
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    Nah, USB port not a SATA, SATA would pretty much make it an internal. I'm tryna use it for my laptop
     
  7. stylez23

    stylez23

    441
    11
    Joined
    Feb 2, 2004
    are you on a macbook or a windows based laptop?
     
  8. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,403
    2,336
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    I'm on a Windows based laptop, Windows 7, Dual Core II Duo, 3gb RAM
     
  9. proper english

    proper english

    11,356
    57
    Joined
    Dec 30, 2004

    that would be mad slow.. atleast get an ext w/ firewire... but i recommend an esata
     
  10. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,403
    2,336
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    Ahh, I see what u're sayin abou the eSata, aint got a port for that tho. What if I bout a usb--> eSata adapter then ran it? If not I might just bootload and dual-boot my hdd since I have a combined 320gb between my hdd and my external. What you think? tryna figure this out before I go to work tonight @ 10pso I have something to do for the 8hrs I'm there [​IMG]