So, I would like to design shoes for NIKE or Jordan Brand

But, my major is architecture. I know that Tinker Hatfield was an architectural major in college but that was back in the day. This day-in-age, things areprobably a lil different. I do draw shoes on the side as well as drawings for architecture but my man goal in life was to be a shoe or clothing designer. Whatdoes it take to become a designer for a big corporation like Nike? Also, what are the salaries for for most shoe designers? I know most architects start atabout 80K+. Thanks guys!

Im pretty sure an Industrial Engineering degree would come in handy.

Maybe even a degree in Graphic Design, but i dont know, i have a design degree and i have my doubts that it'd be real useful in the footwear design world.

The degree you need is a Bachelors in Industrial Design. From searching Ive found out that a limited number of schools offer the program. ut if you are seriousabout it go for it. I'm going to be obtaining that degree in the future as well. Good Luck with everything.

P.S. I've always been curious as to what Industrial Designers make salary wise but Ive never found out. But I guess if you have a passion for whatyou're doing the money will come.

architects start at a lot less than 80k as fas as i know. unless you own your own firm you won't be making that much.

and you wanna go for industrial design. mostly art schools offer it, but i'm in the program at ASU and so far its been a lot of fun. check out core77.comand you can get some more info

Originally Posted by numbah1grimey