What Should I Do? (Looking for some life advice)

Alright, so NT may not be the best place to look for some life advice, but w/e, some people on here are pretty knowledgeable folk, so I guess I might as welltry.
Anyways, my problem is work experience. I am in my second year of biomed. engineering, and have none... Yes I am probably going to get flamed for this, but thefirst step is admitting, right? I come from a family that's never really encouraged us kids to work, and to remain completely focused on studies (whichthey take care of financing).

I am worried because I have a very jank resume, and when the time comes to finally get a job, I will be royally screwed. That is why this semester I would liketo try and find some part time work, and drop from my regular 5 courses to 4 (just to see if I can handle it). I think this is a decent plan? My friend saysI'm dumb and should just focus on school and join a club like engineers without borders. He also did not have work experience like me (he's a couple ofyears older), and was able to pick up an internship at BMW, his only "experience" was being president of engineers without borders. I'm not surewhat I should do, what do you guys think?

Cliffs:
-No job experience.
-Want to pick one up while I'm in school.
-Friend says I should just focus on school, retail exp. is useless anyways...

Do volunteer work. Shows you're interested in the community and it puts something on your resume.

a degree looks better than a couple years at target homie... if anything look for an internship in the field you're pursuing.

real talk.. and job is better than no job on a resume.
it lets them know that you can function in a pressured atmosphere without cracking.
i know cats who finished college and couldnt work a regular job.
he just didnt know how to work with people in real life situations.