Calling all Respiratory Therapist !!!

So after 2 years of taking prereqs and reapplying I have finally made it into a Respiratory Therapy program.

Any current RTs care to share some tips, why you became an RT?
How is your experience as a RT right now?
Do you like you job or did you wish you pick something else?
and how hard was it to find a job?

Im really nervous because I'm not sure what to expect, but at the same time excited to finally work towards something that maybe will be my future career.

Good luck. I got kicked out after my first year :smh:. The ventilator equation charts and pharmacology class overwhelmed me. I studied my butt off but I wasn't understanding the material anymore. I did well in my clinicals though and enjoyed it. There seemed to be a lot of down time during their shifts. They have a reputation of being the laziest in the hospital which I don't think is fair to say. All the magazine reading and tv watching in the break rooms might've contributed to that.

Hi, congratulations! I've been a respiratory therapist for 22 years and have much to share. Check out my website respiratorytherapistcareer.com  The first entry is "Why I'm a Respiratory Therapist". I wish you much success. Kim

thanks

Good luck. I got kicked out after my first year :smh:. The ventilator equation charts and pharmacology class overwhelmed me. I studied my butt off but I wasn't understanding the material anymore. I did well in my clinicals though and enjoyed it. There seemed to be a lot of down time during their shifts. They have a reputation of being the laziest in the hospital which I don't think is fair to say. All the magazine reading and tv watching in the break rooms might've contributed to that.

what did you decide to do after being kicked out?

Just graduated earlier this month from an RT program. I just took my CRT exam and passed it first try. Currently studying for the written RRT and clinical simulations.