for Nters who stopped drinking...

i need some inspiration and guidance i guess...
its easy to say youre gonna give it up, but what did you guys do to really avoid it?

I work in the restaurant industry, and almost everyone drinks at an unhealthy level. its hard to avoid, but I really need to stop it from becoming a habit. 

any stories or advice would be appreciated 

If you're worried that it's going to be hard to give up, perhaps you should try to cut it down gradually.

One of my best friends is a chef and she probably has a drink or two every night after she's finished her shift. It's certainly a lot tougher if you're in the restaurant industry.

Like I said before, try gradually cutting it down and then substitute it for something non-alcoholic. It's just a habit that needs to be altered.

Willpower and not having it be a negative impact on your life with DUI's and such.  A social drink here and there or an occasional cocktail is fine.  Just try to avoid consistent binge drinking....but the fact that you are surrounded by it is going to be tough.   

I gave up drinking in general man. Last time I had a drink was back in August on my vacation to Miami. It is possible to stick to it, though you do get the urge to have a drink here and there or you get invited to go out to bars and clubs. One thing I've noticed is who your true friends are. I can say I've lost couple friends because all they wanna do is chill and drink, so seeing that I dont drink anymore they decided to stop calling me or hitting me up overall which I can care less about. It's my choice and along with that I stopped drinking soda, eating certain things like rice and potatoes and I never smoked so I feel good man!

Originally Posted by adiosburritos

Smoke green instead