How important is GPA for Entry Level Positions?

d5

My GPA is crap but yet I still hustled to graduate with an Economics degree and I have my Associates if that even matters.

I recently got a call back from this nice marketing research company and I got called in for an interview.  Overall, I have no experience in marketing and only some experience in banking.  I'm afraid their actually going to ask me my GPA which is going to be a real let down.  They said they would make me do some computer tests at the interview (not really specific on what kind.)

Since I made it as far as the face to face interview I'm thinking about charming the hell out of the HR director and be as professional as I can be.

Thoughts? 

If they didn't care about the fact that your major has nothing to do with their business...why would they care what your GPA is. Although this sounds like a job where you just call people during dinner time asking them to answer a survey.

I have yet to be asked for my GPA ever on a job interview.  I wouldn't worry about it.  Chances are, an entry level marketing job is just a sales position that has the potential to design campaigns later on in your career.

It's actually more like a bunch of proof reading questionnaires and data entry on excel and powerpoint.  Doesn't say anything about calling but I'll ask during the interview 

Dont put it in a resume, it looks nice on a resume if its a good gpa though, remember a resume should grab as much attention as possible.

Originally Posted by 4318MichaelJohnson4318

Dont put it in a resume, it looks nice on a resume if its a good gpa though, remember a resume should grab as much attention as possible.

This. If you got the interview its cause theyre not worried about it, but that doesnt mean that its irrelevant. You can still and prob will be beat out by people with better ones. Story of my interview life with top firms.