Any Soccer Players in S&T? Vol i need help

ok so after watching it for a while i decided to play in a soccer league.

problem is that im still a novice and dont really know the game like id like too. i have a little knowledge of the game from playing when i was younger

any seasoned soccer players on NT have tips to give me to become a better player? I play defender and midfielder btw

always keep your eye on the ball once facing the opponent coming towards you with the ball.

I played defense in HS . . . they called us "fullbacks" (midfielders were called "halfbacks") . . . so from a defensive standpoint . . .

- watch people's waists (not their head or shoulders and don't focus only on the ball) because where their waists are going, that's where they're going and it's harder for them to fake you out / mis-lead you.

- On a 2 on 1 or 3 on 1 break against you, etc, play the passing lanes / play zone. And then when you commit / finally go for the ball, go hard. For me, that meant automatic slidetackle on the guy with the ball. He may pass it off, but I'd still put him in the mud just to say hi. Once the other team sees you're gonna put a guy into the mud, they'll think twice before putting the ball into your neck of the woods.

- once anyone from the other team is inside your 18-yard line (penalty area), you get skin / cover tight. Outside of that, I keep the guy I'm covering an arm's length away.

- keeping talking with your goalie / rest of the team. I always shouting out little things like look up, man on, square, thru, support, get skin, swing it, etc. and if I see a break and chance to go up on offense, I'll let goalie and rest of defense know so they could cover my man until I'm back on defense / let offense know there's an extra guy to pass too . . .