Any Straight Razor Users on NT (Shaving Related)

I was bored with my shaving routine so decided that i wanted to buy a straight razor and a shaving bowl with shaving soap.
I bought a shavette which is a straight razor with a removable razor blade. unforgiving, but from what ive read its a great and cheap way to learn.

I will say, after my first attempt my neck was definitely cut up 
laugh.gif

Any other NTers shave with a straight razor?

Any advice or wisdom to give to those trying to learn how?

heres a picture of a shavette and the blades that go in it (you have to snap them in half to fit them. the ones i got came presnapped).

2gvikya.jpg

wrdeg7.jpg

video on how to

Yeah I've been using a straight razor for a few years now. Your first 2 weeks will suck cause your face is still getting used to getting worked over. But after that you'll get used to it.
Tips:
Shave every other day. I'm not sure how fast you grow facial hair but don't let it get long at all, it'll just pull more.
Do it after you take a hot shower so your whiskers soften up.
Hold your skin taunt when you shave. Use your other hand to strech your skin so it's smoother.
Find a barber shop that will give you a straight razor shave and observe how they do it.

check out http://www.theartofshaving.com/ when you want to move onto legit shave gear.

im glad you specified that this was a shaving thread.

the last thing NT needs is a 'Team Shank 'Em!'

simply the best shave i have EVER had in my life. IMO
yeah your first time, you will bleed no doubt.. within time you will shave with 10- 20 mins. HOT WATER only.. and lather well.
the goal is to glide and let the razor do the work.
dont apply pressure or anything. invest in a great badger hair brush. blades are cents to dimes for each one.
look into a safety razor to begin with then work yourself into straight but its up to you... you can and will scar yourself.