At what age should you have an established career?

Been having long thoughts about this.

Depending on how many years it takes you to finish your post-secondary education. and whether you decide to continue schooling right after high school. Ormaybe you decided to change what you wanted as your career 2 years into college.

Establish may be too harsh of a word, but having a job thats very much related to your career. Which can help you elevate your status and assist you in thelong run

Just feel that everything is being rushed right now, your thoughts

well times are rough these days. I have a bachelors and i just finished my 1st semester of grad school, and i just recently (august) found a job pertaining tomy field. BUT its not something I wanna do forever (its with old people, i wanna work with kids). But yea...I HOPE by 25 ill be where I wanna be. im 23

Maybe between 28 and 32? I know for me, I am in a 5 year college, considering grad school, am aware of possibly having to work at some non-career related jobsin order to land a job doing something career oriented. So i'm hoping by 32, depending on the grad school thing I have a career focused job.

For me, there shouldn't be rules or set guidelines on how I live my life. I'll get there when I get there, but the idea that if I don't reach Xmilestone by Y age, I'm somehow a failure or "behind", isn't something I want to follow or live by.

As the Partner I work for put it, he still doesn't know what he wants to do in life.

Shouldn't really be an age. You can't expect the same things out of each person. People have different backgrounds and different paths that affect howfast they will or will not become successful.

Originally Posted by Big J 33

For me, there shouldn't be rules or set guidelines on how I live my life. I'll get there when I get there, but the idea that if I don't reach X milestone by Y age, I'm somehow a failure or "behind", isn't something I want to follow or live by.