Barack Obama heads ...

I pose a question .

I have this Black Culture , Identity ,&nd Performance &nd we were discussing African vs. Black Americans .

We all know that Barack Obama is a half white , half AFRICAN man .

My teacher then went on to say that if Barack Obama was half white ,
half BLACK man he would have had VERY slim chances to becoming the President of the United States of America .

Does anyone here agree with this ?

sidebar : my teacher is black &nd in her 50's , knows angela davis , all that .

Seems to me that just about everyone sees him as half white/ half black...

I dont usually say oh hes half white and half AFRICAN!

Dont agree.. as we have seen, you don't have to be a white man to get elected as president.

my teacher told me I was never going to finish junior highschool......I'm a college student now

Originally Posted by Mangudai954

What was your teacher's logic in saying that?
She was saying that because he is AFRICAN and not BLACK he was elected , but that makes no sense to me .

As much as we try to differentiate things ... to the white man we are still BLACK no matter where our ancestry traces to .

I swear is it just me or will people do anything to bring african americans down
ae626f62568d4ca236c2d57481fcf672a2b578ac.gif

celebrate history and let the man live and do his job

Originally Posted by mytmouse76

what is a "black accent"?
how rappers talk. Because that's how all black people talk, and act for that matter. That's the great stuff you learn when you takeAfrican American studies classes, just generalization after generalization, after generalization, all negative of course.

But anyways, if Barrack had a less difficult Muslim sounding name that didn't rhyme with the names of 2 of US's biggest foreign enemies in recent yrs,the results wouldn't have even been close