Can I File For Unemployment???

So I'm a college student and this summer I was making 600 a week working for the city of Oakland. I had to stop working on the 21st of August. Iwasn't fired or laid off being as I'll still have my job next summer but one of the bruhs was telling me I can still file for unemployment and that hewas gonna do that.

Anybody else get unemployment checks? Im gonna try/am trying to get a job down at school but you know how that goes and having any source of income in themeantime wouldn't be bad.

PS yes I'm looking for a handout.

do it anyways... im getting it but i got laid off... whats the worst they will say... no through the internet... and it takes like 5 minutes to do

Originally Posted by Dirtylicious

you are not eligible for unemployment if you voluntarily quit.
I didn't voluntarily quit, didn't have a choice as to whether I could keep working or not.

Originally Posted by StarkyL0ve

I didn't voluntarily quit, didn't have a choice as to whether I could keep working or not.
Sounds like this was a summer gig so NO unemployment. You have to be employed at least 6 months I believe as well.

Originally Posted by Da R Entertainment

Sounds like this was a summer gig so NO unemployment. You have to be employed at least 6 months I believe as well.
If this is the case than it's bad for me. Does it have to be six consecutive months?

smh.gif

Originally Posted by Da R Entertainment

If this is the case than it's bad for me. Does it have to be six consecutive months?

DO not file for unemployment.
They may approve you at first, only to get a bill at the end telling you to pay back everything you got.
If you didnt get fired or laid off you are pretty much not eligible.

smh.gif
There are people out there who are losing unemployment (because it expires eventually) who actually NEED it.

People always trying to get something for nothing....

Go get a job if you're worried about money.

Originally Posted by kicksfiend

smh.gif