How old is too old to learn to play a major sport? Not to play professionally, of course.

I really kinda sorta want'ta learn how to play soccer. All the latinas dig it (and I dig the latinas). And it has great health benefits (when you're not kicked in the head, ankle, knee and/or grape nuts). But I'm over the age of 25.  Soooo I dunno. 
Thoughts from the brethren?

I quit playing soccer when I was 16. I started playing again recently (I'm 21 now) and damn I'm terrible 
laugh.gif
Still, I'm pretty fast and play physical so I'm a good defender for the most part. It's only when I'm playing 2 on 2 or something that I'm useless
laugh.gif

Just get your fitness up first and start practicing your passing and shooting. You don't have to be good to enjoy a sport

I don't think there is any limit. You might look kinda weird playing pee wee soccer at your age but I'm sure there are alternatives

You're not going to be amazing at it, but you should still try to join a league if you're interested in playing. I know a lot of people that joined recreational ice hockey leagues at older ages and ice hockey is definitely a tough sport to pick up.

my friends and their brothers play league softball.. 
i participate in a kickball tourney once a year.. drinking is encouraged. 

i know its not a "major sport" but I started Brazillian Jiu Jitsu about 3 months shy of my 31st bday. Loving it so far, but such a technical sport with so much to learn.

Join a pickup league for fun. It's a good way to get exercise and meet new people. You could even look into a coed league if you want to meet women.

Never an age limit to learn something new even though it helps when you start young. Just look for friendly pickup games through craigslist or a sports group.

Originally Posted by DimSum9

Never an age limit to learn something new even though it helps when you start young. Just look for friendly pickup games through craigslist or a sports group.