I'M LOOKING TO BECOME A MIDDLE SCHOOL MATH TEACHER...

jt air jt

Banned
My major is currently Business Administration with a focus on Finance, but I'm going to switch to Civil Engineering this semester and change my minor from Marketing to Education. Are there any teachers here on NT? Please give me advice, I don't know what I'm getting myself into other than inadequate research on Google.
Thanks in advance.

pimp.gif

Don't do it... Reconsider

LOL in all seriousness, I'm studying to be a teacher because I want to make a difference in people's lives and actually making learning fun for students. I hated school growing up.

I wouldn't consider teaching if you're actually doing this as your primary means of income. You will be frustrated by the lack of pay and hard work.

Originally Posted by Mangudai954

Isn't it hard to get a teaching job in Cali right now?

Not if you're a male, specifically a minority male...

California is in need of male teachers who are black, hispanic, and other ethnic backgrounds.

Originally Posted by MoonMan818

California is in need of male teachers who are black, hispanic, and other ethnic backgrounds.

im curious to why is this?^

i been looking to make a thread about teachers too but never got around too it. any advice for a future english teacher?

Originally Posted by imthekang

Originally Posted by MoonMan818

im curious to why is this?^
It's all about demographics.

In a place like Los Angeles, where the public schools are mainly dominated by African-American and Hispanic children, teachers with similar backgrounds to the students would be much more helpful to their development.

A young black male teacher could relate to his students better than a 67 year old white woman who is only teaching still because of her tenure.

sister teaches at a all girls private school. pay is decent compared to public school. at least ya get the summers off.

I'm currently in my first year as a middle school Special Education/ELA teacher in NYC.