Johnny Depp suing Amber Heard for 50 million? Amber Heard counter suing for “100 MILLION DOLLARS”

I am totally willing to believe that someone doing a fair minded legal analysis of the verdict
would conclude that Heard should have won.

but imo it's clear nobody really cares about the strict legal analysis.

people feel like
Amber Heard lied and exaggerated too much to be considered a victim
given her mutual participation in an abusive relationship

and she deserves to be punished.

right or wrong that's how people feel.
and even if she technically didn't meet the criteria for defamation.

so even if she wins on appeal, and she never pays him a dime, it doesn't really matter.
Johnny Depp has won.
Why do you think she technically didn’t meet the criteria for defamation?

Why do you think she technically didn’t meet the criteria for defamation?

Im not a lawyer, so I really can't say.
I've read compelling arguments both ways.

the problem is the pro heard arguments i've heard rely on detailed parsing of her original statements.

which is fine in a court of law. but public opinion doesn't operate by those rules.
people think she's a liar, and deserves to be punished.

and you aren't going to changed their mind by saying, well if you look at the requirements needed to classify speech as defamation
and you analyze the original op-ed line by line

well it technically can't be defamation.

even if that's true nobody cares,
it's not going make people who think she's a liar, change their minds.

Im not a lawyer, so I really can't say.
I've read compelling arguments both ways.

the problem is the pro heard arguments i've heard rely on detailed parsing of her original statements.

which is fine in a court of law. but public opinion doesn't operate by those rules.
people think she's a liar, and deserves to be punished.

and you aren't going to changed their mind by saying, well if you look at the requirements needed to classify speech as defamation