NT LEGAL EXPERTS : IMPORTANT QUESTION! HELP!

This is the scenario:

Parents are giving medicine to a child who is perfectly well, anti-depressants with serious side effects, such as hallucination, anxiety, depression, and evensuicidal thoughts. The child is 17, and knows that they are perfectly well, and do not need this medicine. The child isn't being forced, but the medicineis being given without their knowledge, until today. The child is feeling the side-effects and doesn't like the drug, but is scared of what the parentswill do if confronted.

How legal is this?

Can a parent force a child, who is perfectly well, to take unnecessary medicine? Especially if that medicine is causing negative side effects?

Serious responses only please, as this is a serious problem.

Stop taking the medication. For legal reasons, at age 17 in most states you're consider an adult.

I AM A CORPORATE LAWYER, NOT A CRIMINAL OR TORT LAWYER SO TAKE WHAT I SAY WITH A GRAIN OF SALT.

If this is a legal drug we are talking about, being given in doses prescribed by a doctor, it's going to be very hard to prove liability.

The fact that the child didn't know the medicine was being given is very shady though.

If a parent forces a child to take uneccessary medecine and the child is harmed by that medicine, I would think the parents face criminal liability. Veryinteresting question.

I think you'd have a very high hurdle in proving wrongding if there is a doctor prescribing the medecine and its being given in accordance with theprescription.

Why doesn't the child say he/she is better off without it? How would the child know the medicine did these things if the child didn't even know he/shewas taking it? I think the child needs to go to a doctor, tell them what is going on and see if there has been any damage.