NY NT'ers check this thread. Help/Information is needed. Vol. I love NY

Hi
I’m a student from Europe and this summer I’m coming to USA through Work And Travel program. I’ll work in NY, Manhattan, but I still don’t have where to stay and I will only come to NY when my job contract starts. So could anybody recommend where to look for cheap places to live throughout the summer. I’m talking real cheap like 500dol/month or even lower . Any kind of help or information is appreciated.  Thank NT’ers.

Regional forum.

500 is real cheap though, you gonna be in the heights or some other sort of project area.

love your profile gif 

i dont think you can find that anywhere in nyc for $500.00 a month unless you take a chick like that with you to supplement your living expenses

if you do i got closet space in my apt

im serious about the rent thought 
you will be living in a crap hole room for $500.00 a month 

500 is way too low for a big city. If you're looking for low rent, definitely check out other boroughs. My friend lives for cheap in a good neighborhood in Brooklyn (near Ft. Hamilton) and pays $800 for his own room in a 3 bedroom apartment.  Brooklyn has a bad reputation outside of NYC but has many good neighborhoods like that which aren't bad at all.  It's not luxurious by any means, and the apartments are a little shabby, but it's safe, clean, and a 5 minute walk from the subway. Everything you need is walking distance too; tons of restaurants, shoe/clothing stores, banks, etc. The downside is that it takes a while to get to Manhattan from that area, including several transfers on the Subway (around 40 minutes).

And the best part about that area is the Halal Cart. Dear lord...I definitely can never move out to NYC cause I'd be obese just from eating there every day
laugh.gif

You will probably have to rent a one bedroom with other people coming from that program? 4 people in a one bedroom sounds about right.

Originally Posted by whyhellothere