Diagnosed with Cancer and wanted to share with the NT Family

Hello NT Family,
I hope you find yourselves in great spirit! I never thought I’d be doing this, but wanted to reach out to an audience with a common interest. My name is Fernando Lopez and have been a member for quite some time. Currently my family and I are going through a time of challenge, distress, and even confusion at times. Just recently, about 4 weeks ago, I was diagnosed with myeloid sarcoma (a form of cancer) after having surgery to remove a mass in my abdominal area. Although the news took us all by surprise- we stand strong in faith, staying positive, and forever in praise as we move forward.

This news comes in a bitter sweet time for my family and I. I have been an elementary school teacher for over 16+ years in Houston, all these years dedicated to my home school as a child and the neighborhood I grew up in. It’s the first time that I will not be starting a new school year in my classroom as usual. Initially, the idea of this was hard, but quickly realized my health, my children, and wife are the reason I stand here in great faith. With that, my wife and I have our own 3 children (ages 13, 8, 6) who will be kicking off the new school year this week along with countless others. Thanks to the support of my family and friends, my kids will be in great care and transition into school during this unexpected time.

For the past month or so, I have been through a number of procedures including initial surgery, CT scans, MRIs, bone marrow testing, and several blood analyses. Currently, I am patiently waiting on the next step of this journey. I will be receiving treatment here in town during the next few weeks. Along with therapy, I will possibly be going through a blood-stem cell/bone marrow transplant as well. It’s been a bit overwhelming lately, however, I am strong in belief daily and know I will fight and win this battle!