go to Texas Tech or community college for 1 year?

I got the acceptance letter from Texas Tech in the mail today. Im gonna apply for Uni. North Texas sometimes this week. But, Im comptemplating on going to a community college for the first year. If I do that I can stay home and the college is like 5 minutes away from my house. The downside of this is that all my efforts and achievements(I got a 1650 on the SAT) in high school is thrown out after i go to a community college, and it only counts from the community college. Another thing is I might miss out on the college life for the first year.

The main thing why i might do his is because Im a musician and I play guitar, and there is no way I can do that easily if I have to stay at a dorm or apartment.

If you go to comunity college go for 2 years instead of 1 to save the cash. Honestly, if you know what you want to do with your life and have your major pickedout then maybe you should go to Texas Tech. Its really up to what you can afford and what you want to learn.

Originally Posted by JohnnyRedStorm

If you go to comunity college go for 2 years instead of 1 to save the cash. Honestly, if you know what you want to do with your life and have your major picked out then maybe you should go to Texas Tech. Its really up to what you can afford and what you want to learn.

how easy is it to transfer from community college to a 4 year college? Because Im wanting to transfer to a really good school like UT or A&M after I goto community college.

UNT is for the weird artsy freaks from high school.

Tech, according to my best friend, is the greatest college on Earth.

You sound like a UNT guy.

I heard the girls were
pimp.gif
at tech but stds are included...

DO NOT go to Texas Tech. I assume the reason you're going to college is to get a degree, not toilet paper.
I hate to come off as an elitist or something (because I'm not trying to at all), but Texas Tech is a joke and a half.

What are you wanting to major in though?