Market for Unauthorized/Fakes?

I'm very new to collecting. Always liked shoes, but from afar because my family couldn't afford them growing up. I now have the means to get the shoes I like, but want to make sure my shoes are authentic. Thanks to this site, I've saved more than $1000 so far. With all that being said, I came across this on instagram today and I didn't realize (call me ignorant, as I said, I'm new to this whole thing) that there was indeed a market for fakes... is this just one incident? Or do people actually go out looking for fakes? I guess like myself growing up, some can't afford the real deal, but me personally, if I couldn't get the real, I'd save up until I could. Anyway, thoughts?

Last edited:
These idiots are F'in MORONS... They don't seem to understand their "unauthorized" joints are made from cheaper materials making the shoe not as durable as the Legit pairs and will in fact yellow with time like the true pairs do..They have fallen for the hustle.. hook, line and sinker..

IF it was in fact "the same shoe" I would not be opposed to rocking them either, but they are FAR from the same product and I'm not just talking a yellow sole... Fake is Fake..ALWAYS has been, ALWAYS will be.

The guy who commented Finestgearnyc is a actually a reputable sneakerhead who had YouTube poppin for a while with only authentic kicks. After he got some sort or sponsorship with a rep site that sent him free Gm's. After that you barely saw authorized pairs on his channel.

"Them joints" are much cheaper than the real ones, and will proaly fall apart after about 20 wears. To answer your question, Yes, lots of people knowingly buy and wear fakes and support them.

"Them joints" are much cheaper than the real ones, and will proaly fall apart after about 20 wears. To answer your question, Yes, lots of people knowingly buy and wear fakes and support them.