1994 Chicago 1 Care

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, glad to be a part of the community. I recently cleaned out nearly half of my collection to put toward what I consider to be my all time favorite shoe, the 1994 Chicago 1's. I found them in my size (10.5) with the box and couldn't pass them up. I'm tracking them and patiently awaiting their arrival in a couple days.

I've searched the forum quite a bit including the sticky thread above, as well as youtube and other sources. I'm just wondering what you guys think I should do as far as preventative maintenance before I start wearing them regularly, given the age. I've never used sneaker shields before, but I just placed an order for one pair of the universal and one of the protectors. I'm not a fan of sole shields, but would like to prevent heel drag as much as I can to prolong the life of these over the years. I've looked into using painters tape, but would like to hear from you guys if you have any other creative solutions that I haven't come across. This includes buying cheap eBay heel protectors to save money and avoid a full shield..

Lastly, I was wondering what the safest route would be as far as cleaning the midsoles. With the age of the materials I just want to ensure that I use extra caution. I personally don't mind a little yellowing so it's not too much of a priority, but I thought I would ask the experts while I'm at it. Other than that, I just plan on wearing them as soon as I get my Superfeet insoles so I can store the originals. I also figured with the age it would be better to just wear the leather naturally, without spraying any kind of protectant on them. But, if there's anything that I'm missing please let me know. I hope I posted this in the right section!

Here are some pictures! Let me know what you think. :smile:
m_5c68b375aa5719810c287dc5.jpg
m_5c68b3755c44525ee9695a5c.jpg
m_5cc0a6e016105dd6e32086ce.jpg
m_5cc0a6ddd1aa25dae02176fe.jpg
m_5c68b3759fe486baa7ba8261.jpg