Best external HD to copp? (must work with 360/ps3)

Discussion in 'General' started by kevenmayne, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. kevenmayne

    kevenmayne

    3,773
    382
    Joined
    Oct 6, 2006
    I want an HD that can be connected to my 360/ps3 and show up, I tried my brothers but it didnt work with it.

    I would also prefer at least 150gigs since im going to be getting a lot of movies (no pron -_-), but I can search around for deals, I just need to know itwill work with my 360/ps3 once connected...Thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. josebronx

    josebronx

    13,984
    44
    Joined
    Jan 23, 2008
    [​IMG]
     
  3. kevenmayne

    kevenmayne

    3,773
    382
    Joined
    Oct 6, 2006
    Also, is it possible to D/L Bluray movies to it and hook it up to the ps3 and have it show up without burning it to a disc? Cause that would be [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  4. gangsta207therevolution

    gangsta207therevolution

    4,112
    10
    Joined
    Sep 20, 2006
    Budget? if you buy one with a USB it will work for PS3 and 360, but you have got to format it on the cpu. You can DL 1080p movies and play them on a 360 if youreally wanted to.
     
  5. presequel

    presequel

    3,837
    59
    Joined
    May 5, 2006
    any of the WD mybook passports will work.

    500gb for about 80-100. work instantly with ps3/360.
     
  6. servechilled81

    servechilled81

    18,975
    5,639
    Joined
    Mar 29, 2004
    any drive should work.
    You have to put the drive in FAT32 for it to work on 360, it works on ps3 like this too
    Your cousin might not have been fat32
     
  7. recycledpaper

    recycledpaper

    3,137
    10
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2008
    unless the 1080p videos you are downloading are HUGE files, they're not gonna compare to blu-ray discs in terms of quality. plus, owning a blu-ray disc isnice.

    you should get the lacie rikiki

    [​IMG]
     
  8. notorious 858

    notorious 858 Banned

    1,743
    10
    Joined
    Jun 12, 2009
    I'd go with a Seagate free agent go:

    [​IMG]
    I bought a 500GB myself about 2 weeks ago to backup my old OG 60GB hard drive on my PS3 when I did an upgrade to my internal PS3 hard drive.I now use thisexternal hard drive to watch movies & tv shows I download and music I listen to on my PS3. I like this drive because it's small, sleek, and does notrequire a power cord to run on my PS3 or laptop. Also IMHO and past experience with external & internal hard drives, Seagate hard drives last longer andhaven't given me problems. Western Digital hard drives [​IMG][​IMG] had so many of their hard drives die on me, get corrupt, or lost data in thepast.

    Also to get any external hard drive you end up buying you are going to need to re format it to FAT32 if it's 250GB or bigger in for the PS3 to see theexternal hard drive and files on the hard drive. The reason is the OS on the PS3 runs on FAR32 while most external hard drives that are sold for windowspc's are formatted by default with NTFS.

    Here are the current prices on amazon.com:

    Link:

    http://www.amazon.com/s/?...p;ref=pd_sl_99rsxpojia_b
     
  9. dathbgboy

    dathbgboy

    17,419
    2,351
    Joined
    Mar 15, 2006
    Came in here to post the fact the no matter what HDD u get u'll have to format it in order for it to work w/ ur PS3. Just another reason why PS3>Xbox360[​IMG]

    But Seagate and WesternDigital are two of the best companies for hdd's. Look on ebay or the usual tech sites (newegg.com, tigerdirect.com, etc)
     
  10. servechilled81

    servechilled81

    18,975
    5,639
    Joined
    Mar 29, 2004
    the hdd will need to be formatted to Fat32 to work on 360 or PS3 so...
     
  11. Fong$tarr

    Fong$tarr

    11,594
    4,808
    Joined
    Oct 9, 2007

    Yes....you have to partition it to a FAT32 to upload stuff and to make it read on the PS3 (not sure on the X-Box but I heard that the PS3 is more moviefriendly as far as it being a mpeg4). I just started doing this a month ago and I will never buy a DVD and Blu-Ray again. Only downside to the partition to aFAT32 is that you can only max upload about 4gigs at a time....so that would exclude Blu-Ray movies since they seem to be 4gigs or higher. But I think rippersand downloaders are noticing this problem so they are formating movies a lot better. I am getting damn near Blu-Ray movies at a fraction of the file size. Mostare only 2.5gigs tops and average 1.5gigs a movie.

    Just google "partitioning HD to FAT32" and there should be a step by step guide.

    Oh...and to answer your questions, I got a Western Digital 1.5TB and it has been great. Quiet, matches the PS3 and turns off when not in use.
     
  12. bee easyy

    bee easyy

    795
    11
    Joined
    Oct 2, 2007
    So if I have data already on my hard drive and I want to partition it, will I lose all my data on my hard drive?
     
  13. shatterkneesinc

    shatterkneesinc Banned

    22,535
    2,383
    Joined
    Nov 26, 2005
    ps3 would only read fat32 files
    in a fat32 you cant have single files larger than 4gb and a typical HD movie is 10gb +
    yes you will lose your data if you partition it with files already in it
    what you can do is move some files into your computer for temporary storage and then format it in a fat32 file system and then move back
     
  14. bee easyy

    bee easyy

    795
    11
    Joined
    Oct 2, 2007
    Good lookin shatter.
    Another question... So if I partition my Maxtor HD will my 360 be able to read the files once I plug it in the USB?
     
  15. sneakers904

    sneakers904

    292
    10
    Joined
    Mar 20, 2009
    I use a Western Digital My Passport 500 GB black.
    Ps3 detects it right from the rip.
     
  16. Cop a Seagate or Western Digital
     
  17. judeezy36

    judeezy36

    738
    130
    Joined
    Feb 12, 2006
    as for blu-ray rips... some of us have been enjoying them on our ps3's via HDD for some time. true, fat32 can only recognize up to 4gb at a time-- so getMKV2VOB. Download the MKV, convert in ps3 format, and it'll split your files in to 4gb parts each. and yes, when I do a side by side comparison with areal blu-ray, I genuinely can't tell the difference.
     
  18. DownByLaw

    DownByLaw

    9,548
    90
    Joined
    Dec 18, 2003
    Good info in here, I always wondered what steps I needed to take for my external to show up on my 360.
     
  19. hellohiphop4000

    hellohiphop4000

    2,019
    10
    Joined
    Aug 19, 2008
    Seagate / Western Digital. Make sure it's formatted fat32. As for price, there's bargains all over the net, just search around, I'd recommendhitting up Young Dr0..
     
  20. spsfinest212

    spsfinest212

    5,070
    10
    Joined
    Mar 27, 2009
    Where they doing that at?
     
  21. jfdoom

    jfdoom

    1,890
    10
    Joined
    Dec 2, 2009
    True bluray rips are 30+ gb

    Those 4 gig 720p files you find online are not true hd
     
  22. DownByLaw

    DownByLaw

    9,548
    90
    Joined
    Dec 18, 2003
    Question about formatting it to fat32, will you have to reformat it when you use it with you pc?
     
  23. judeezy36

    judeezy36

    738
    130
    Joined
    Feb 12, 2006
    True "Rips" are 7-10gb. Actual untouched Blu-Ray downloads are anywhere from 20-50gbs.
     
  24. Fong$tarr

    Fong$tarr

    11,594
    4,808
    Joined
    Oct 9, 2007
    True bluray rips are 30+ gb

    Those 4 gig 720p files you find online are not true hd



    Yeah but it still looks pretty damn good even if it isn't true HD and you save like $30 as well. Like I said, some rippers are getting pretty good at whatthey do. I have iRobot and it looks awesome and it is only 1.4gb.