NT, I Learned An Important Lesson Today VOL. SPITE is the Root Of Evil

NT Fam, I feel like a d-bag today because I made a huge mistake, and I hope my story can resonate within some of you so that you don't make a similar mistake. It's not a "lesson" you haven't learnt before, but here goes:

I had an important mid-term today, and I studied my *** off for it. I have the class with a really close friend of mine; we both studied together, but I understand the material a bit more than he does. I figured we were both adequately prepared though.

We sit next to one another but he sits next to the left-hand aisle so he gets stuck with the "lefty" desk. I'm sitting next to him with a righty desk and there's an Asian kid sitting next to me. I've never seen this kid in my life, so I knew he was one of the people who only showed up when there's an exam or assignment due.

We start the exam, and I see this kid almost blatantly looking at my exam. We have the test booklet and a scantron, so I start marking my questions wrong on the booklet and then mark them correctly on the scantron. When I finish, I write on the booklet, "In case you were looking, I marked every question WRONG. Good luck." I glance his way after I know he's read it and the kid is traumatized. I then pick my bag up, turn in my exam (which I'm pretty sure I aced), and walk out of class feeling like a boss.

My friend comes out with a smile on his face so I knew we both killed it. I tell him,

"Yo I'm sorry I took so long, the kid next to me was looking at all of my answers so I took some time marking them wrong and making sure my scantron was correct."

As soon as I say it, his expression just blanks.

"You mean...ALL of them were incorrect? On the test booklet?"