NT, what do you think about becoming a resident assistant?

I just finished my first freshman semester, I was very involved, and I made a lot of connects with many people in the residence life department. I'm prettymuch guaranteed the position.

The benefits include a waived housing fee ($9,000 for the whole year), and a waived meal plan (about $2800 for the whole year.) Plus you're guaranteed asingle (no roomates FTW). So that leaves me like for only $5000 to pay for that year, which is covered by the stafford loan(s).

I'm only asking this because I believe it will detract from the cliche "college experience" ....since I do like to get my and
pimp.gif
on. Being a resident assistant will highly limit my freedom.

What do yall think??

you would basically have no out of pocket expenses that year...i say do it...you could probably still get away with smokin and drinkin...

i know RAs did when i was a freshman...

Do it. No need to worry about paying for school while in school? Jump on that.

I'm a Junior in college and RAs are the most hated people on campus. They have a rep that makes them seem like they are out to get you.

I would say do it, but be a "nice" RA and not one who goes looking for trouble. That way, people will like you.

I would say do it. The money you save would be worth it.

And you can still party, you just have to make sure you are still setting a good example for the other residents because you are an authority figure. I knowthat's a problem that RA's go through.

The pros outweigh the cons. And I dont really think it limits your freedom. Of course during the first few weeks you have to be more accessible than later onin the year when people pretty much know what's going on and then on duty rotation starts (a few hall meetings). As long as you have a cool hall with notso much trouble then it seems pretty easy.