Standby, Hibernate or Shut Off?

Discussion in 'General' started by iheartboost, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. iheartboost

    iheartboost

    20,302
    1,339
    Joined
    Jan 31, 2007
    When it comes to your PC, what do you do? I shut off because my PC lags a bit when I use Standby. I never used Hibernate before.
     
  2. tony23retro

    tony23retro

    854
    11
    Joined
    Sep 18, 2006
    I use hibernate... long start up time though.[​IMG]
     
  3. jpioneer

    jpioneer

    5,665
    10
    Joined
    Dec 10, 2007
    Uptime is probably somewhere near 500 hours... Sleeping with your PC on [​IMG]
     
  4. kicktionair

    kicktionair

    5,689
    10
    Joined
    May 14, 2008
    Hibernate if just a few hours

    Shutdown if it's going to be a while before I use it
     
  5. cocolicious

    cocolicious

    1,294
    10
    Joined
    Dec 2, 2009
    If I'm goingto be off of it for long periods of time like at night I shut off, any other time I do those other two.
     
  6. SVNTI

    SVNTI

    4,475
    459
    Joined
    Sep 18, 2005
    Sleep / Close lid.

    Shutdown before I go to bed.
     
  7. recycledpaper

    recycledpaper

    3,137
    10
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2008
    i used to hibernate all the time but i've recently started shutting down. conserves energy and startup time is essentially the same.

    the slightly longer start-up time is good for grinding some french roast and throwing it into the french press [​IMG]
     
  8. roc boy jada

    roc boy jada Banned

    5,351
    301
    Joined
    Dec 17, 2007
    I usually use Standby.
     
  9. primavera vills

    primavera vills

    4,633
    42
    Joined
    Jul 2, 2008
    The only time the computer gets shut off is when it gets an update [​IMG]
     
  10. skip2mylou23

    skip2mylou23

    5,259
    359
    Joined
    Jul 20, 2004
    I use hibernate a lot.
     
  11. mcraptor

    mcraptor

    2,624
    47
    Joined
    Apr 1, 2009
    Shut it down only when I'm going to sleep other than that I just leave it on the whole day
     
  12. mangudai954

    mangudai954

    31,517
    1,694
    Joined
    Sep 17, 2003
    Stand by. Always.


    Side question: Am I the only one who's computer with sometimes turn back on after I tell it to go into stand by?
     
  13. mytmouse76

    mytmouse76

    18,414
    389
    Joined
    Sep 29, 2005
    hibernate...

    i have windows 7 with the quick start up tho
     
  14. hugo

    hugo

    10,916
    67
    Joined
    Oct 16, 2008
    i just close my laptop without doing anything :/
     
  15. memphisboi55

    memphisboi55 Moderator

    27,979
    2,121
    Joined
    Dec 22, 2002
    IDK.. i just close my laptop and walkaway...
     
  16. hueyp in louiev

    hueyp in louiev

    4,423
    11
    Joined
    Oct 1, 2008
    I'll take Leave that b_ running for $1000 Alex...
     
  17. kim1

    kim1

    1,762
    13
    Joined
    Dec 30, 2005
    Standby...I don't shut it down...ever
     
  18. 410fresh

    410fresh Banned

    1,234
    10
    Joined
    Dec 29, 2007
    same
     
  19. jdcijordanz

    jdcijordanz

    342
    10
    Joined
    May 12, 2006
    sleep
     
  20. psykho

    psykho Banned

    1,828
    10
    Joined
    Jan 21, 2009
    Shut off my computer every night
     
  21. mastamind89

    mastamind89

    14,169
    2,628
    Joined
    Sep 22, 2008
    If I'm gonna be some hours, I put it to sleep. When I'm going to bed, I turn it off.
     
  22. jaypesoz

    jaypesoz

    15,517
    8,019
    Joined
    Feb 15, 2007
    word. standby only when I carry it to/from work, but other than that, its on 24/7 and unplugged, my battery life is about 12 minutes[​IMG] But I have 3 power cords so I'm set[​IMG]
     
  23. blink

    blink

    787
    46
    Joined
    May 20, 2008
    Pretty much.
     
  24. juice2352

    juice2352

    2,130
    30
    Joined
    Mar 2, 2009
    Standby
     
  25. Master Zik

    Master Zik

    63,237
    15,468
    Joined
    Nov 21, 2007
    Standby. I never shut it down.

    If I do is cuz the computer has forced me to restart so it can update.