After bills, rent, etc paid, how much are you able to save?

This is specifically for NTers who pay big bills like rent or mortgage. I'm looking to move out the end of this year and I'm adding up all my expenses and seeing how much money I can save up for the month. So I ask you guys, what is a good amount to save up for the month, and how much are you able to save every month? I'm brand new to this living on my own thing.. Thank you in advance

Not enough
mean.gif

Oh, people actually have money left over to save after paying bills? Must be nice

Rule of thumb is rent should be 25-30 percent of your monthly take home I think. All other bills depend on what you have, insurance, phone bill, cable, utilities, car note maybe. I dont save too much, pay bills and splurge with the leftover

Last edited:
A few grand after every bill is paid off. I'm married though...

Inb4 "what benefits of a man being married have" NTers come in.

inb4 someone suggests roommates

inb4 someone tells you how bad it is to buy a house

inb4 rent controlled apartment

Around 6500-7200 , it fluctuates that much since it depends if I feel like working on my days off and how much ot I get .

And that's an average 2 weeks without working my days off

Last edited:
Well. Not enough. If u figure in going out to eat and gas and heck it just barely gets us by. I make great money too. Its sad

Living in nyc I was only saving like 500 a month but that was because I was dishing out around 4-5k in bills every month :smh: :smh:

Now that I'm in Pa mortgage and monthly bills come up to 2-2500. So I'm able to put 3k in my savings and 1k in the family savings.

When you first move you might as well forget about saving because its going to be hard but once you get a hang of it you will be good. This is how I try to look at it. 35% rent, 25% bills, 25% save and 15% play money