Any NTers Work in the IT/Computing field?

I'm considering switching my major over to IT focusing on Info Security. And was wondering if any NTers are heading towards that field or are currently init and have any feedback.

i currently work in the IT field, and a lot of the work i do is in the area of information security (got my CISSP in 2004). these are some of the areas i workin, and the work is VERY interesting:

- penetration testing -/ vulnerability assessments
- password cracking
- server hardening (OS and other platforms)
- cisco PIX firewalls and ASA security devices (have experience with symantec, mcafee, checkpoint, and other security devices, but not recent)
- log analysis
- secure application development
- SQL Server 2005 security
- SCADA security
- security policy development

pretty good money, too.

Originally Posted by Shapeshiftah

i currently work in the IT field, and a lot of the work i do is in the area of information security (got my CISSP in 2004). these are some of the areas i work in, and the work is VERY interesting:

- penetration testing -/ vulnerability assessments
- password cracking
- server hardening (OS and other platforms)
- cisco PIX firewalls and ASA security devices (have experience with symantec, mcafee, checkpoint, and other security devices, but not recent)
- log analysis
- secure application development
- SQL Server 2005 security
- SCADA security
- security policy development

pretty good money, too.

34r66wp.gif

roll.gif

what is a good salary to expect fresh out of school? I took CCNA back in highschool, but didn't take the cert. test.

what is a good salary to expect fresh out of school? I took CCNA back in highschool, but didn't take the cert. test.
in NYC, depending on the area of security in which you want to work, fresh grads make anywhere from $70k to $85k.