NEW GHOSTFACE KILLAH INTERVIEW... RESPONDS TO YAYO'S COMMENTS

A decade ago, the Wu-Tang Clan and Ghostface dropping new music within a week of each other would have been cause for a national hip-hop holiday. Unfortunately, in 2007, it only heightens the tension within the Wu camp, regarding everything from compensation to the musical direction of the group's upcoming album, 8 Diagrams. Rhapsody had a chance to sit down with Pretty Tony while he was promoting his seventh album, Big Doe Rehab. We got his thoughts on the inspiration for his ghetto stories, on G-Unit's Tony Yayo's claims that Ghost may not be the author of Supreme Clientele, and on where things currently stand with the RZA and the Wu.

RHAPSODY: When you're telling stories like "Maxine" or "Alex (Stolen Scripts)," are they inspired by real-life experiences?
Ghostface: When I hear a certain type of music, it brings certain things out. I'm an artist. I'm a real poet. Whatever the beat makes me see, I'll go write. It might sound like a murder. It might sound like a real snowy day, or kids having fun in the snow. It might sound like "The Sun." "Maxine" was a true story. It was based upon what happened with fiends in the projects. Crackheads is funny. They be doin' all types of dumb s**t. You gotta watch 'em. They sneak things from you.

What's the dumbest thing you've ever seen a crackhead do?
Just anything. These m*th*rf*ck*rs dance for crack. Some of them do anything you tell 'em to do. M*th*rf*ck*rs spin on their head on concrete for a f*ck*n' rock.

So when you're constructing a story like "Maxine," how long does it take to write?
Sometimes it takes a long time. It depends on how much you keep going back to it. I might write a page and then don't go back to it for like two weeks or three weeks. It just depends on what comes that day.

What was it like collaborating with Mobb Deep on classics like "Right Back at You"?