Should I get a credit card?

Right now I am debating if I should get a credit card or not. I have asked my parents and they both said no that I don't need it because I don't needto establish credit yet. They don't doubt that I won't be able to pay it in full by the end of the month and if I am mature or not to get one. The onlyreason they keep going back is that I just don't need one at the moment. I am a Sophomore in College and right now my only source of income is a job I haveat my university. I also have no bills to pay and life's good. Let me know what you think NT. If I were to get one I would be applying for the AmericanExpress Green Card. Thanks.

If you are responsible and can pay the balance off at the end of the months why not? Get a rewards charge everything on it and pay as you go .... Establishcredit, earn points and you aren't paying interest.

I already got a PS3 a Blu Ray and round trip ticket to PR of rewards point and I don't buy anything besides what I would normally buy with cash .. Gas,EzPass, Grocery, Cloths, etc .. so basically if I'm going to buy with cash I just charge it get home transfer the money and keep it moving ....

You just have to be very responsible and not live outside your limits ..

nope when you have one youll be spending way more because you dont see money leaving your wallet/pocket. i dont have one and dont need one for a while

Originally Posted by Snake201

If I were to get one I would be applying for the American Express Green Card.
American Express with no credit? Not happening.

i have a credit card already, if i apply for like 3 others and just leave them there i heard it builds credit is this true?

Originally Posted by Shaq DIESEL 34

Debit card. The money just comes right out your account.

That's what I have right now. I actually have 2 with 2 different banks.

getting a credit card is nice, but the one big thing is that you are at risk of spending more than you make.