Graphic Designers come in!

So I am looking into being a graphic designer.. What is it like? How are the jobs? How is the learning process? I am not good with Photoshop or Illustrator at all. Is that something I should learn before? Any personal experiences would be helpful :D

It's fun, if you like designing and have a creative mind and passion it. The jobs are great if you have a BS, or your skill set is HIGHLY advance that they will overlook your non BS degree. The learning process is as easy as you want it to be, if you are not going to school for it, watch some YouTube tutorials, download the programs and start playing with it. Learn as much as possible of Adobe Creative Suites as possible (Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign), and again, if you have the passion for it, it will be a cake walk.

I took a course on it, but the teacher was soo damn slow, I said **** it, and learned it on my own, less than 2 weeks, :lol:. I've been doing this for about 3 years, working my way up, I'm not big time, I got a handful of clients and enjoy freelance graphic jobs. Most of my jobs are mobile app based though, but I want to move more into web as well.

It's fun, if you like designing and have a creative mind and passion it. The jobs are great if you have a BS, or your skill set is HIGHLY advance that they will overlook your non BS degree. The learning process is as easy as you want it to be, if you are not going to school for it, watch some YouTube tutorials, download the programs and start playing with it. Learn as much as possible of Adobe Creative Suites as possible (Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign), and again, if you have the passion for it, it will be a cake walk.